Within the study programme of Archaeology, you can choose from five minors. In principle, it is not allowed to take a minor other than these five minors. Only in exceptional cases and with substantiation, can you propose a minor from another study programme of the faculty.

Once you have made your choice of a minor, you will select course units from that minor. In doing so, you need to take into account the starting competencies of the different course units (to be found in the course sheets). In case of a standard learning track, you take 15 ECTS credits of your minor in Bachelor 2 and 15 ECTS credits in Bachelor 3. In case of a personalised learning track (GIT), you can spread this over several years.

Two combined minors are offered. You may (but do not have to) combine the combined minor in Geography with a second minor. By combining them, you can avoid problems with lesson overlaps. 

The minor in Education can only be taken in Bachelor 3 and consists of only 15 ECTS credits. You always need to combine this minor with a second minor in Bachelor 2, e.g. Art History, Musicology and Theatre Studies or History from which you also take at least 15 ECTS credits.

Think carefully when choosing a minor. It may be relevant for additional studies after your Bachelor's or Master's degree in Archaeology. For example, with a minor in Education, you can go directly on to the Master of Science in Teaching in Archaeology. A minor in Geography can give you a study load reduction in the preparatory programme to a Master's degree in Geography.

The following minors are offered within the study programme Archaeology (more information via the study guide):

  • Combined minor in Geography 
  • Minor in Art Studies 
  • Minor in History
  • Minor in Classical Civilization and the Classical Tradition
  • Combined minor in Education